Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Default Anyone have any practicing tips

I'm a 17 year old guitarist and I'm looking for some advice I'll take anything

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk

BluesTalk Member
    Thanks

Some good guitar lessons on YouTube. Just type in BLUES GUITAR LESSONS in the search box. Good luck.
    Rdrokit Power channel, rock/blues & roadhouse music.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCc4...9lEgoWa39iqEgA

BluesTalker
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by phaynes4648 View Post
    I'm a 17 year old guitarist and I'm looking for some advice I'll take anything

Welcome to the Forum! How far along are you in your playing? Do you know the fingerboard notes, open chords, barre chords, major and minor scales, music theory, etc, etc. It would help to know where you are.
    Marky

Remember the music is not in the guitar

BluesTalk Member
    Thanks

use a metronome. practice scales and sequences, but only play them as fast as you can play them PRECISELY. then, when you can play something clean and accurately without messing up, speed it up and do it over. you may have to play something 1000 times.
    learn some theory.....if anyone tells you that learning theory will ruin your creativity, they are full of crap.
    learn arpeggios and chords.
    learn what harmonized scales are.(harmonized scales are chords within a key) which leads me to this......
    learn the pattern for chords in the major and minor keys. (I ii iii IV V vi vii major, and i ii III iv v VI VII minor)
    I'll have my drink in hand and just give cold stares at my guitar from across the room and say out loud, "this could be you in my hand but you wanted to suck so now you just sit over there and think about that for awhile".---------sam_in_cali

5. The Following User Says Thank You to heltershelton For This Useful Post:

SashaS (04-28-2018)

BluesTalker
    Thanks

I agree with heltershelton but here are a few things you might consider: