Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    BluesTalk Member
    Thanks

Default Best blues player to learn licks from?

Who should listen to and take licks from? I'm still new to the world of blues. Played guitar a few years but then discovered the blues and fell in love. Looking to continue to growing as a player. Suggestions?

BluesTalker
    Thanks

Jimmie Reed...so simple and tasty.
    T-Bone Walker for a little jazzy feel.
    Both of those players, the notes are easy...but the groove might take you a lifetime to cop!
    Also...when I have a student who wants to play Blues, I insist he/she get a copy of the first Fabulous Thunderbirds album "Girls Go Wild".
    Again...nothing mysterious...you can hear and steal every note...but the FEEL!!!

3. The Following User Says Thank You to charlie chitlins For This Useful Post:

BluesTalk Member
    Thanks

Yeah, I agree with the post above, you really need to specify whether its acoustic or electric blues you're interested in because they are totally different worlds. Also do you play slide? Because that adds yet another dimension. If you do play slide then you have to get the Paris Texas soundtrack by Ry Cooder, it is a veritable treasure trove of slide guitar licks to die for, actually even if you don't play slide you should still get that album.

I'm an acoustic player so can really only make suggestions in that area, however as regards electric guitar, if I were to start playing electric there is an instrumental track by Ike Turner called Ho Ho which would be one of my first missions to try and emulate. The track is more about having fun and he seems to go through every possible trick that he can in sequence. When people say that the blues is sad I would ask them to listen to this and then defy them not to be happy by the end of it.

BluesTalk Member
    Thanks